Basics of Vedic Astrology by Anil Astrologer

Basics of Vedic Astrology by Anil Astrologer
July 22, 2021

Basics of Vedic Astrology by Anil Astrologer

Vedic Astrology is the study of how planets’ movements affect lives on Earth. Astrology is closely associated with Astronomy, as astrology depends on the planets’ positions at any given time, along with the zodiacal fixed star sign. Let us discuss some basics of Vedic astrology that are made available by Online astrologer in India

Understand Some Basic Concepts of Vedic Astrology

In relation to the Earth, astrologers observe the positions of certain celestial bodies and certain points in the universe and the correspondence between the relative positions and events occurring on Earth. Although the correspondences were ancient scientists’ early experimental findings, we have many modern scientific experiments that could verify and confirm earlier findings.

Modern findings, however, do not necessarily support the fact that celestial bodies affect Earth’s lives or cause events to occur. However, they say that certain bodies’ positions or groupings in relation to Earth correspond to certain events on Earth.

Hindu astrologers have developed a rational procedure to make observations in terms of correspondence with events occurring on Earth. These events are physical and psychological.

This procedure is based on factors such as The Zodiac, Asterisms, Planets, etc. Let’s look at some of them briefly.

The Zodiac

The Zodiacs are a fixed background or plane of reference used by the astrologers to work the positions and groupings in a detailed and precise manner. The Zodiacal Circle and the Ecliptic share the same plane, which is known to be the approximate path of revolution of the Earth and other planets around the Sun. This is why the Zodiac is the Ecliptic representing the extension of Earth’s orbit towards the sky.

There are twelve equal sections or divisions of the Zodiac, which we commonly call signs. 

Given below are Vedic terminologies of the signs along with their English. 

  • Mesha – Aries
  • Vrishabha – Taurus
  • Mithuna- Gemini
  • Karka – Cancer
  • Sinha – Leo
  • Kanya – Virgo
  • Tula – Libra
  • Vrischika – Scorpio
  • Dhanu- Sagittarius¬†
  • Makara- Capricorn
  • Kumbha -Aquarius
  • Mina- Pisces

The Asterisms

In Vedic terminology, we call the Asterism as NakshatraAncient astronomers observed that many changes occur within the 30-degree zones that the Zodiac has mapped out. Because of these reasons, the existing 12 sections of the Zodiacal background to 27 sub-divisions. This was done based on the belt of fixed stars that encircle the Earth at the equator. These new sections are called Asterisms or Nakshatras.

Asterisms begin at the same point as the Aries, which begins the Zodiacal plan as well. 

Some of the other factors are the planets, the houses and time. But the Zodiac and Asterism form the fixed backgrounds.

How is Vedic Astrology Different from Western Astrology?

When it comes to the method of measurement, Vedic astrology and Western astrology are quite different. A tropical zodiac is used in Vedic astrology instead of a sidereal zodiac, which is based on the fixed background of the stars, whereas the former is used in Western astrology.

By Anil Astrologer – One of the Most Trusted Astrologer in India 2022

Request A Callback

    Get Free Advice