Different Types of Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology

Different Types of Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology
January 23, 2021

Different Types of Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology

Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology

Ancient sages have divided zodiac apart from the 12 main sun signs into 27 Nakshatras which are also known as constellations. Each of these nakshatras have a degree of 13.20/ a Nakshatra is even known as lunar mansion. The reference of this has been found in the ancient scriptures of Vedas.

According to Nakshatra in Hindu Astrology, the 27 Nakshatras are daughters of the King Daksha and also that Moon has been married to all these daughters. Thus, moon spend about 1 day each in every constellation and therefore lunar month is of 27 days approximately which is equal to total number of constellations.

Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology can be classified according to the attributes such as the deity, the owner, caste, sex, species, etc. Nakshatra, wherein Moon of an individual is placed during birth is known as Janma Nakshtra or birth star. These constellations or nakshatras can be divided further into 4 quarter which are called Padas and each spans 3.20 degrees called Navamsa. These planets are placed in the padas or the subdivisions and they are studied in order to get precise predictions.

Each of the sun signs cover 9 padas. Therefore, it can be seen that the Nakshatras are mainly used for different kind of purposes. One of the main uses is for determining the point of starting of the dasha or the planetary cycle or the period which divides time into major periods as well as sub-periods and for selecting an auspicious time or the muhurtha for important activities.

Types of Nakshatras in Hindu Astrology

types of nakshatras in hindu astrology.

According to the qualities, 27 different types of nakshatras constellations can be divided into the below mentioned categories:

  • Fixed or Sthira
  • Movable or chara
  • Fierce or ugra
  • Swift or Kshipra
  • Tender or Mridu
  • Sharp or Tikshna
  • Mixed or Misra

#1 Fixed or Sthira nakshatra are Uttars Phalguni, Uttara Bhadrapada, Uttara Ashadha, Rohini. These kind of constellation are favorable for work of stability. Fixed and long term such as planting the trees, buying the property, laying foundation for a building, construction of property, etc. This is considered to be much more auspicious when the nakshatras fall on a Sunday.

#2 The movable or chara nakshatra are Swati, Punarvasu, Dhanistha, Shravana and Shatabhisha. All such constellations are favourable for purchasing vehicles, gardening, automobiles, etc. This would be more auspicious when the nakshatras are falling on a Monday.

#3 The Fierce or Ugra nakshatras are Magha, Bharani, Purva Phalguni, Purva Bhadrapada, Purva Ashadha, etc. The constellations are favourable for the destructive deeds like demolishing a structure, setting fire, etc. It would be auspicious when it falls on a Tuesday.

#4 The Swift or Kshipra nakashtras are Pushya, Aswini and Hasta. The constellations are considered to be favourable for commercial transactions as well as trade, admission in college or school, medicines, etc. It would be auspicious when the nakshatras fall ona Thursday.

#5 The Tender or Mridu nakshatras are Chitra, Mrigashira, Revati and Anuradha. The constellations are considered to be favourable for creating new relationships and enjoyment of romance, pleasure, drama, writing poetry, etc. It would be auspicious when the nakshatras fall on a Friday.

By Anil Astrologer

[ Don’t forget to check – 5 Auspicious Nakshatras For Marriage ]

Request A Callback

    Get Free Advice